Loading Events

« All Events

August Concealed Carry Class

August 10 - August 11

$85.00 – $175.00
B27 Target On Wall

This is a 2 day class structured to meet the state requirement for concealed carry licensing. Classroom time and range qualifications will be held at Strykers Shooting World in Las Cruces New Mexico. You cannot get your license if you cannot attend the class at this location, or if you are not a New Mexico resident, and you must be at least 21 years of age. Highlights of NM Concealed Carry Classes:

  • Self defense laws in New Mexico
  • Situational awareness
  • Handgun function and nomenclature
  • Definitions and restrictions of Concealed Carry Licensure
  • Interactive discussion

What’s Required?

The New Mexico Department of Public Safety will issue licenses to individuals who meet the following requirements:

From The New Mexico Department of Public Safety:

New Mexico Statutes Annotated (NMSA) Chapter 19 Concealed Handgun Carry 29-19-4. Applicant qualifications. (2005)

A. The department shall issue a concealed handgun license to an applicant who: (1) is a resident of New Mexico or is a member of the armed forces whose permanent duty station is located in New Mexico or is a dependent of such a member; (2) is twenty-one years of age or older; (3) is not a fugitive from justice; (4) has not been convicted of a felony in New Mexico or any other state or pursuant to the laws of the United States or any other jurisdiction; (5) is not currently under indictment for a felony criminal offense in New Mexico or any other state or pursuant to the laws of the United States or any other jurisdiction; (6) is not otherwise prohibited by federal law or the law of any other jurisdiction from purchasing or possessing a firearm; (7) has not been adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution; (8) is not addicted to alcohol or controlled substances; and (9) has satisfactorily completed a firearms training course approved by the department for the category and the largest caliber of handgun that the applicant wants to be licensed to carry as a concealed handgun. In addition to the above, any person wishing to obtain a license must prove proficiency with the handgun they desire to carry. This testing will require you to fire 15 rounds at 3 yards and 10 rounds at 7 yards for a total of 25 rounds. You must hit inside of a 12″ x 18″ rectangle with 18 of the 25 shots to pass the qualification. You will need to repeat this qualification for each type of firearm (semi-auto, or non semi-auto) that you wish to carry.

What May I Carry?

You may carry a handgun in the caliber you qualify with OR SMALLER. For example, if you qualify with 45 caliber you may carry 45, 40, 38, 357, 9mm 380, etc. Qualify with a 380 and you may only carry a 380, 32, 25, or 22 etc. If you qualify with a semi-automatic you can only carry a semi-automatic under the caliber restriction listed above. If you qualify with a revolver you may only carry a revolver under the caliber restrictions listed above. You can qualify with both types if you desire. The most common scenario is for a student to qualify with a 45 caliber semi-automatic and revolver, this leaves them with the greatest number of carry options. All qualification targets are provided, however, you will need to purchase or bring ammunition. 75 rounds will be sufficient for all your shooting practice and qualification needs. We have a 45 caliber semi-automatic, and revolver you can use for qualification if you desire. To use these firearms we request that you inform us and purchase ammunition from us before the qualification date.

The Devil Is In The Details.

New Mexico concealed carry licenses are valid for four years. After four years you will be required to attend a refresher course, as well as re-shoot your qualification under the same restrictions as a new licensee. We offer both types of classes, simply signup for the type that you require. You have a +/- 60 day window to renew your license. You can’t take a renewal course more than 60 days before your license expiration date, and you have up to 60 days after your license expires to take a renewal course. Note that your license IS NO LONGER VALID for carrying a firearm after its expiration date during the renewal grace period! If your license has been expired for more than 60 days, you will have to take the course as a new applicant. The cost for our class is $175.00 per person for new applicants, or $85 per person for four year renewal courses. Class payments must be made in advance and are not refundable. We are unable to accommodate any day-of-class registrations. We are happy to move you to another of our scheduled classes if you are not able to attend on the date you signed up for, but you must contact us at least 48 hours prior to class. If you do not attend class and do not inform us, you will forfeit your class tuition. Please note that the course tuition does not include the processing fee charged by the State of New Mexico, nor the charge for obtaining your electronic fingerprints. Strykers Shooting World has no control over these additional charges. THIS IS NOT A BASIC HANDGUN CLASS, this class is not intended to teach the student how to shoot. You must be able to manipulate, load, and fire your handgun safely BEFORE taking this class!

Students wishing to take our concealed carry classes will require two items to be completed in advance:

  1. You will need to purchase your seat for class, either in person in our retail store, or online here
  2. You will need to complete our range waiver if you have not already done so. If you’ve shot in our indoor range in the past, have taken one of our previous concealed carry classes, or have followed the “Sign our Range Waiver” link on this website, then we already have this waiver on file for you. If you’ve never done any of those things, you can find the range waiver here – Our Range Waiver

We appreciate your taking the time to help us ensure that we have all our paperwork in order, it makes a big difference. There will be a link to the Range Waiver in the emailed receipt that you will receive, again, you only need to complete the waiver once. Please provide us with a current email address when you complete your class application. We’ll send you a class reminder email the week of your class date! We promise not to use your email for marketing purposes unless you give us permission.

When And Where?

Classroom time and range qualifications will be held at Strykers Shooting World in Las Cruces New Mexico. You cannot get your license from us if you cannot attend the class at this location.

Students getting their new license will attend class from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on Saturday. Class will resume at 9:00 a.m. on Sunday with qualifications being shot on Sunday also.

Students taking the class for their four-year renewal will attend class from 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. on Sunday, and then will shoot their qualification after a short break.

Due to instructor availability and other business factors, we must schedule all qualification shooting on Sunday. All students must be available to shoot on Sunday – NO EXCEPTIONS.

More details about times and procedures for qualifications will be given in-person in class on Saturday for new students, and on Sunday for renewal students.

No minors will be allowed in the classroom during class time.

A Note About Two-Year Renewals Courses

The process for two-year renewals has recently been changed by the State of New Mexico. We are offering the refresher class that is now required, but we are not currently able to schedule them online. If you need to take a two year refresher course, please do not purchase one of the classes on this page, but rather call our store at 575-523-2424 during business hours (M-F: 10-6, Sat: 10-5) to be put in contact with our class instructor who will schedule a one-on-one time with you. We apologize for this inconvenience, we are working on the ability to schedule two-year refresher courses online.

New Mexico Department of Public Safety

Looking for the NMDPS website? It’s right here! New Mexico Department of Public Safety


The numbers below include tickets for this event already in your cart. Clicking "Get Tickets" will allow you to edit any existing attendee information as well as change ticket quantities.
August Concealed Carry New License Class
Choose this option if this will be your first New Mexico CCW license, or if your current New Mexico license will be more than 60 days expired by the class date.
$ 175.00
15 available
August Concealed Carry Four-Year License Renewal Class
Choose this option if you are renewing your current New Mexico CCW license. Please note that you must choose the New License option if your current license will be more than 60 days expired by the class date.
$ 85.00
15 available


August 10
August 11
$85.00 – $175.00
Event Category:
Event Tags:


Stryker’s Shooting World
(575) 523-2424


Stryker’s Shooting World
415 S Valley Dr
Las Cruces, NM 88005 United States
+ Google Map
(575) 523-2424